Prerequisite Policy

BARTonline is obligated to verify prerequisite eligibility for all courses requiring a prerequisite. Prerequisite documentation is required for all students, regardless of their degree-seeking status with Barton.

Prerequisite documentation may include unofficial transcripts, student progress reports, or test scores that are less than five years old. Accuplacer placement testing may be available for courses with an English and/or Math prerequisite. For placement testing information, please visit the Placement Testing webpage.

BARTonline Courses with Prerequisites page  

Effective August 1, 2018, Students without prerequisite documentation on file will not be allowed to enroll in the course(s) at the time of enrollment. Students will receive a Prerequisite Error message in their PAWS account at the time of enrollment, which will direct them instructions on how to proceed with submitting proof of prerequisite or to information regarding the online Accuplacer exam.

Students that fail to submit proper prerequisite documents or successful Accuplacer scores by 3:00 p.m. (CST) on the 1st Tuesday, will not be allowed to enroll in their prerequisite course(s) for the selected session.

For more information or questions about the BARTonline Prerequisite Policy, contact advisement@bartonccc.edu

Prerequisite Policy Deadline Dates

Fall 2018 Session 1
Session Start/End Dates: Monday, August 13, 2018 – Sunday, October 7, 2018
Prerequisite Deadline Date: Tuesday, August 14, 2018 by 3 p.m. CST

Fall 2018 Session 2
Session Start/End Dates: Monday, August 20, 2018 – Sunday, December 9, 2018
Prerequisite Deadline Date: Tuesday, August 21, 2018 by 3 p.m. CST

Fall 2018 Session 3
Session Start/End Dates: Monday, September 10, 2018 – Sunday, October 21, 2018
Prerequisite Deadline Date: Tuesday, September 11, 2018 by 3 p.m. CST

Fall 2018 Session 4
Session Start/End Dates: Monday, October 15, 2018 – Sunday, December 9, 2018
Prerequisite Deadline Date: Tuesday, October 16, 2018 by 3 p.m. CST

Fall 2018 Session 5
Session Start/End Dates: Monday, October 29, 2018 – Sunday, December 9, 2018
Prerequisite Deadline Date: Tuesday, October 30, 2018 by 3 p.m. CST

Winter Intersession 2018
Session Start/End Dates: Monday, December 10, 2018 – Sunday, January 6, 2019
Prerequisite Deadline Date: Tuesday, December 11, 2018 by 3 p.m. CST